TDR Daily

Source:The New Daily- from a different Daily Review.

Even though The Daily Review USA Blog is not currently active as far as new blog posts (last one in 2019) the social media pages are very active and we post on our TwitterFacebookInstagram, and hopefully eventually our YouTube pages daily. 

So what you'll be able to see on this page is what The Daily Review is up to on social media and be able to see all of our social media posts, including all the photos, videos, and comments everyday that The Daily Review posts on social media. Which is everyday Monday through Friday and sometimes on the weekends as well. And we hope you find this page interesting. 

08/18/2021 - Happy Birthday to the Great #RobertRedford. Here he is with his good friend #PaulNewman as they're shooting #ButchCassidyAndTheSundanceKid (1969) one of my favorite movies.

TCM: "While Robert Redford was already rising in fame during the 60s, BUTCH CASSIDY AND THE SUNDANCE KID ('69) was a turning point for his career. Starring alongside Paul Newman, he solidified his on-screen image as the "sardonic good guy."

In 1981, when Redford founded his now famous and internationally respected independent film institute and the Sundance Film Festival he named it "Sundance" after his character in the film. #SummerUnderTheStars"

Source:TCM- Butch and Sundance (1969)

From The Daily Review 

1. 8/19/2021 - Julia (played by Dixie Carter) letting Marjorie Lee Winnick (played by Pamela Bowen) have it, on this episode of #DesigningWomen. You don't mess with the Sugarbaker women, especially their sisters, if you know what's good for you. "

Sugarbaker Girls: "1. Mary Jo’s “Looks Aren’t Important” speech  2. The “Come Hither” look.  3. The “Hello, So Nice to Make Your Acquaintance” look.  4. The “Jessica Lange” look.  5. The night the lights went out in Georgia.  6. Claudia is more adult than the adults." 

Source:Sugarbaker Women- Dixie Carter

From The Daily Review 

2.  The Candidate from 1972, is my favorite political movie,  Hollywood political satire, and favorite Robert Redford movie.

And almost 50 years later our political system and career politicians and politicos, are probably just as crooked and dishonest as they were back then. So it's still a very relevant movie.

TCM: "In addition to advocating for the arts, Robert Redford also has played a role in supporting the LGBTQ community, Native American Rights, and issues surrounding environmentalism.
In 2012, Pitzer College launched the Robert Redford Conservancy for Southern California Sustainability which focuses on creating sustainable solutions to environmental issues. #SummerUnderTheStars"  

Source:TCM- Robert Redford

From The Daily Review 

1. 8/20/2021 - #Hollywood Babydoll #JayneMansfield with one her funniest and most intelligent quotes. She was always anything but boring and always a lot more intelligent than she wanted people to know. And I believe if she stuck with comedy, I think we're talking about one of our best female comedians ever at this point and perhaps she's even still working today, if she got her life together.

Jayne Mansfield: "If you're going to do something wrong, do it big, because the punishment is the same either way."   

Source:Audrey K- Jayne Mansfield

From The Daily Review 

2. The Swedish Goddess Anita Ekberg in 4 For Texas, with Frank Sinatra, in 1963. If you can find a woman who is this hot, sexy, adorable, and can act, you really need to hold onto her as long as possible, because Anita was really unique.

John Todd: "Anita Ekberg - 4 for Texas (1963)"  

Source:John Todd- The Chairman and The Goddess

From The Daily Review 

1. 8/23/2021 - Talk about your great Hollywood comedy duos. Well, they would've been if Jayne Mansfield and Mickey Rooney ever worked together.

IMDB: "Jayne Mansfield, Sophia Loren and Mike Romanoff at Romanoff's in Beverly Hills, CA / 04-12-1957" 

Source:IMDB- Jayne and Mickey in 1957. No, a different Mickey.

From The Daily Review

2. 8/23/2021 - Hollywood Babydoll Lee Grant, perhaps playing the cutest killer in TV history, on Columbo with Peter Falk, in 1971.

Columbo: "From Season 1 'Ransom For A Dead Man' - A brilliant tort attorney gets rid of her boring husband by faking his kidnapping and keeping the ransom. The FBI may be fooled, but not Columbo." 

Source:Columbo- Peter Falk and Lee Grant.

From The Daily Review

1. 8/24/2021 - Perhaps the King of Cool #SteveMcQueen and #Hollywood Babydoll #JayneMansfield in 1959. If McQueen is the King of Cool, then Jayne was good enough to be in his company.

Kings & Queens of Cool: "Steve McQueen and Jayne Mansfield visiting The Los Angeles Examiner Grand Prix on March 8 1959.

At that time, Jayne was at the top of her career. She was (sadly?) promoted by Twentieth Century-Fox as "Marilyn Monroe king-sized", having starred in blockbusters such as "The Girl Can't Help It" and "The Wayward Bus".
Steve was the television star of the CBS western series "Wanted Dead or Alive" as the bounty hunter Josh Randall." 

Source:Kings & Queens of Cool- Steve and Jayne in 1959.

From The Daily Review

2. Pussy Galore (played by Honor Blackman) meets James Bond (played by Sean Connery) in Goldfinger from 1964.

The memorable lines in this scene are:

Pussy Galore: "I am Pussy Galore"

James Bond: "I must be dreaming"

Pussy Galore: "I'm a damn good pilot!"

Pussy Galore: "You can turn off the charm, I'm immune"

Ronald Brown: "Goldfinger- Pussy Galore" 

Source:Ronald Brown- Pussy Galore meets James Bond

From The Daily Review

1. 8/25/2021 - English Muffin Diana Dors and her husband (at the time) Richard (don't call me Little Dick) Dawson at the Cannes Film Festival in France, in 1956.

Getty Images: "19th May 1956: British blonde 'bombshell' actress Diana Dors (1931 - 1984), formerly Diana Fluck, with her husband in a light blue cadillac at the Cannes Film Festival to promote her latest film 'Yield To The Night'. Original Publication: Picture Post - 8396 - Diana - Queen Of Cannes - pub. 1956 (Photo by John Chillingworth/Picture Post/Hulton Archive/Getty Images)" 

Source:Getty Images- Di and Dick in 1956

From The Daily Review

2. #Hollywood Goddess Ruth Roman and Alex Nicol in Look In Any Window, from 1961. I've only seen like half of this movie, but I think it's one of her best.

Famous Fix: "Alex Nicol and Ruth Roman in the provocative Look in Any Window, 1961" 

Source:Famous Fix- Ruth Roman and Alex Nicol

From The Daily Review

1. 8/26/2021 - English Muffin Diana Dors appearing on the Phill Silvers show (with guess who) in 1955. Diana was a natural and gifted comedian and it's comedy where I believe she really stands out as an entertainer. Just look at her interviews, her TV appearances, here own writings and I believe she's as funny as Shelly Winters, Joan Collins, and other great comedic actresses.

IMDB: "Diana Dors and Phil Silvers in The Phil Silvers Show (1955)" 

Source:IMDB- Phil and Di in 1955

From The Daily Review

2. Hollywood Goddess Ruth Roman and the great character actor Jack Cassidy, in Look In Any Window, from 1961. She was so sweet to look at and listen to, with a quick wit as well. And he was a great character actor and comedian.

IMDB: "Look in Any Window (1961) Jack Cassidy and Ruth Roman in Look in Any Window (1961)" 

Source:IMDB- Ruth Roman and Jack Cassidy

From The Daily Review

1. 8/27/2021 -  Reelz did an autopsy documentary about Hollywood Babydoll Marilyn Monroe last month and sort of reexamined her case. None of the facts and the evidence has changed, which their doctor concluded. She killed herself accidentally by overdose.

E Investigator: "More than 50 years have passed since the world lost the beautiful, beloved sweetheart and sex symbol, Marilyn Monroe. Anyone who met her, watched her movies, or listened to her music, clearly remembers the wit, charm, and beauty that she brought to life both on and off the silver screen. This article provides an overview of the circumstances surrounding her death. In addition, it provides information on the investigation that followed and the results of Marilyn Monroe’s autopsy report."

Source:E Investigator- Hollywood Babydoll Marilyn Monroe

From The Daily Review

2. Hollywood Goddess #AnnSheridan and #GeorgeRaft, from #TheDriveByNight. She is so cute in this scene and looks like a little girl with her daddy, except for perhaps the kiss. 

Ann Sheridan Fan Club: "Ann Sheridan - from They Drive by Night - with George Raft." 

Source:Ann Sheridan Fan Club- Ann Sheridan and George Raft

From The Daily Review

1. 8/30/2021 - Hollywood Goddess  Joan Collins guess-starring on CBS's MissionImpossible, I believe in 1968.

Double O Section: "Joan Collins from Mission: Impossible episode "Nicole" 

Source:Double O Section- Joan Collins on Mission Impossible

From The Daily Review

2. I don't care what others say, I love George Raft in They Drive By Night. It's as if he and Humphrey Bogart were operating in this movie with the same sense of humor and timing. FYI: Ann Sheridan ain't bad either. LOL 

Ain't That a Kick In The Head: " ann sheridan george raft humphrey bogart they drive by night 1940 **myedits:gif** **annsheridan **georgeraft **humphreybogart **theydrivebynight 1940s gif warning" 

Source:Ain't That a Kick In The Head- Humphrey Bogart, Ann Sheridan, and George Raft, in They Drive By Night (1940)

From The Daily Review

1. 8/31/2021 - Hollywood Goddess Linda Day George on CBS's Mission Impossible, in 1971.

Getty Images: "LOS ANGELES - JULY 7: MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE. Greg Morris as Barney Collier and Lynda Day George as Lisa Casey. Image dated July 7, 1971. (Photo by CBS via Getty Images)" 

Source:Getty Images- Greg Morris and Linda D. George

From The Daily Review

2. The George Raft character asks the Ann Sheridan character (in They Drive By Night) something like: "How's the food?" and she replies: "I don't know, I never eat here." 

Ann Sheridan reminds me of Lauren Bacall (speaking of Hollywood Goddess's) at least in the sense that they were not just really cute and funny, but they were adorably funny with great comedic timing. 

If anyone knows exactly what Raft asked Sheridan here, feel free to share. 

Dial N For Noir: "They Drive By Night (1940)" 

Source:Dial N For Noir- Ann Sheridan and George Raft

From The Daily Review

1. 9/01/2021 - Reelz with an excellent documentary of Hollywood Babydoll Elizabeth Taylor from a few years ago. At least arguably the best actress of her generation and perhaps the cutest Hollywood brunette ever.

Reelz: "Elizabeth Taylor had scoliosis (curved spine) and multiple back surgeries, among many other health problems. To manage her pain she took pain killers, but did she start to take too many? Did her addiction contribute to her death of cardiac arrest? Take a first look at an all new episode of Autopsy, and watch the whole episode on Sunday, May 6, at 9ET/PT." 

Source:Reelz- Autopsy Elizabeth Taylor

From The Daily Review

2. Alfred Hitchcock is my favorite film director and Strangers On A Train is one of my top 5 Hitch films. Saw it the other night and Robert Walker is deadly funny in it. Plus, I couldn't keep my eyes off Ruth Roman every time the camera was on her. I still have that crush.

Carter Thallon: "In his 1951 film, Strangers on a Train, Alfred Hitchcock uses symbols to imply that the antagonist, Bruno Anthony (Robert Walker), is deeply connected to Pluto, the god of the underworld in Greek mythology. Bruno’s connection to Pluto emphasizes the truly malevolent nature of Bruno’s character." 

Source:Carter Fallon- Strangers On a Train

From The Daily Review

1. 9/02/2021 - Cliff Robertson and Hollywood Babydoll Lana Turner, in Love Has Many Faces, from 1965. This is one of my favorite soap operas."

Graham Russell: " Pete (Cliff Robertson) and Kit (Lana Turner) pouting through the pain aboard their yacht. Note Robertson's safari leisure suit - so atomic-era. Note too the glasses of brandy: this duo continuously knocks back brandy (in the blazing heat on the beach!) as if their lives depend on it. Taking a sip each time they do would be a fun drinking game. Interesting: in real life Turner was reportedly a hard drinker, but onscreen her drunks scenes are wildly unconvincing... 

Source:Graham Russell- Cliff and Lana in 1965

From The Daily Review

2. Hollywood Goddess Ruth Roman in Alfred Hitchcock's Strangers On A Train, from 1951.

Every Hitch film has that one woman that gets guys (lets say) attention in the film where they always remember her and remember her in that film. Whether it's Eva Marie Saint, Kim Novak, Ingrid Bergman, Grace Kelly, Karen Black, and in this film with those beautiful eyes, cheeks, the sweet, sexy voice it was Ruth Roman.

OZU Teapot: "Strangers on a Train - Alfred Hitchcock - 1951 -Ruth Roman" 

Source:OZU Teapot- Ruth Roman 

From The Daily Review

1. 9/03/2021 - Jimmy Stewart and Hollywood Babydoll Grace Kelly, in Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window, from 1954. Even though Jimmy is old enough to be Grace's father in real-life (and even looks older than that) I still think they worked well together and had excellent comedic timing in this film.

The Guardian: "The first time I watched Rear Window, I was 14 or 15 and living in a remote part of Ireland. There was a mile and several hills between us and our nearest neighbours, so the concept of looking out the window and being able to closely survey the lives of an entire community was alien to me, and totally fascinating. I was nurturing an ambition to visit New York at the time and Rear Window, more than any other film I'd seen, gave me a powerful sense of that city's atmosphere: noisy, breathless, intoxicating – even though the whole thing was filmed inside a Hollywood studio." 

Source:The Guardian- Jimmy and Gracie in Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window

From The Daily Review

2. Hollywood Goddess Ruth Roman, in Alfred Hitchcock's Strangers On A Train. She was so cute with those eyes and cheeks and I think she knew it. 

Cinemas Past: "Ruth Roman - Strangers On A Train (1951)" 

Source:The Daily Review- Ruth Roman in Strangers On a Train

From The Daily Review

No comments:

Post a Comment

Anyone is welcome to comment on The Daily Review, as long as their comment or comments are relevant to the post or posts that they're commenting on and are not trying to sell something or make their comment or comments personal. Anything else won't make it to the post or posts and will be marked as spam.